Peter J. Wilkes

Peter J. Wilkes

 

Peter James Wilkes, 72, of Benton Harbor, Michigan, passed away November 28, 2014.

Peter was born March 2, 1942 to Mary Katrades in Chicago, Illinois. Peter is survived by his wife Patricia; his children, Peter Wilkes of Frankfort, Illinois; Christopher (Michelle) Wilkes of New Lenox, Illinois; Brian (Regina) Wilkes of Indianapolis, Indiana; Nicole (Robert) Wilkes-English of Elmhurst, Illinois; and his grandchildren, Christopher, Gabrielle, Isabella, Sophia, P.J., Autumn, Evan and Emma.  

Peter spent 18 years with the Illinois State Police, where he was Director of Executive Security and responsible for the protection of four of the State’s governors, their families and their residences.

In 1979, Peter was appointed by President Jimmy Carter to serve as the United States Marshal for the Northern District of Illinois, and served under President Ronald Reagan.

After retiring in 1986, Peter and his wife, Patricia, founded Protective Services, Inc., which he operated full time until his death.

Friends may visit Wednesday, December 3, 2014, from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. (Eastern), 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. (Central) at Starks & Menchinger Chapel, 2650 Niles Rd., St. Joseph, Michigan. 

A Celebration of Life Service will be held Thursday, December 4, 2014, at 10 a.m. (Eastern), 9 a.m. (Central) at Starks & Menchinger Chapel.

Burial to follow at North Shore Memory Gardens in Coloma, Michigan.

In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to the Sarett Nature Center. Benton Harbor, Michigan.




Copyright © 2020
MailMax