Twin City Players Celebrates 2019-2020 Season with Digital Tiffany Awards

Twin City Players Celebrates 2019-2020 Season

with Digital Tiffany Awards


The Twin City Players community gathered virtually to celebrate its 33rd Annual Tiffany Awards. The Facebook Premiere celebration (online due to COVID-19) was held Saturday, August 29th and recognized the performances and achievements from the immediate past TCP Mainstage Season - 2019-2020. In addition to the awards viewers were entertained by the cast of Mamma Mia! and a creative animated video, The Grinch Who Stole Theatre.


The Tiffany Performance Awards are named after the late Marion Tiffany, an actress, volunteer and charter member of Twin City Players. A secret panel of judges selects each year's winners.


Best Lead Actor went to Kraig Kirkdorfer for his performance in Marjorie Prime. Best Lead Actress went to Susan Meadows for her performance in Marjorie Prime. Best Supporting Actor went to Michael Bond for his performance inMarjorie Prime and Best Supporting Actress to Jodie Wilson for her performance in Mamma Mia! Named Best Character Actor was Hayden Boocock for his performance in Mamma Mia! and Best Character Actresses went to Renee Wright and Juliet Golob for their performances in Kris Kringle the Musical.


Golden Neophyte Awards, presented for best "first-time" performances in a TCP production, went to Michael Bond for Marjorie Prime, Kersten Claeys for Mamma Mia!, Lizbeth Benjamin forMarjorie Prime, and Kristen Wielenga for The Savannah Sipping Society. The Youth Award, given for one or more outstanding performances by an actor under the age of 19, went to Marie W. for her performance in The Savannah Sipping Society. Honored with the Outstanding Ensemble Performance Award was the cast of The Savannah Sipping Society.


The What a Ham (Hammie) Award was presented to John Rogers, Jr. for his performance in Kris Kringle the Musical and the Milking it Award was given to Zach Teadt for his performance in Mamma Mia!


From each show, cast and crew members select one fellow cast member and one crew member for the highly prized Unsung Hero Awards. The following were recognized with this distinction: Mamma Mia!: Juliet Golob (crew) and John Taylor (cast); Marjorie Prime: Reta Trux (crew) and Michael Bond (cast); Kris Kringle the Musical: Abby Buckhanan (crew) and Juliet Golob (cast); The Savannah Sipping Society: Angel Stout (crew) and Peggy Harrington (cast).


The award for Outstanding Costume Design went to Reta Trux for her work on Mamma Mia! Ed Brunner and Cindy Jakeway received awards for Outstanding Set Design for Mamma Mia! Matt “Dolphy” Clark was recognized with the award for Outstanding Lighting Design for Mamma Mia!


Singled out for special service to the organization during the 2019-2020 season were Scott Bradford (Bob Grace Service Award), Larry Nielsen and Julie Smiy (Dottie Griffith Distinguished Volunteer Award), and John Taylor (The Player Award).


The Twin City Players also recognized this year’s recipient of the Brian Swiger Memorial Scholarship: Isobel (Zoe) Downey.


The Tiffany Award celebration and How the Grinch Stole Theatre videos are available to view at the TCP website, Donations are welcome in lieu of event tickets and may be made at the website.


About Twin City Players

Formed in 1932, Twin City Players is one of the oldest, continuously operating community theaters in Michigan. It is a volunteer based nonprofit organization that strives to engage the community in quality theatre that changes lives and to be recognized for organizational excellence producing quality performances in southwest Michigan. The TCP Playhouse is located at 600 West Glenlord Road, St. Joseph, MI. For more information about TCP, call 269-429-0400 or visit

Copyright © 2020